The Priory at Scorton History
With parts of the building dating back to 1650, The Priory weathered the storm of the reformation to become a blacksmiths, boys school and more recently a country inn before being transformed into the boutique hotel, cafe bar and restaurant it is today. The original part of the building was a Catholic Chapel (the stone cross and Orb can still be seen above the bakery entrance). It was built as a Chapel for people travelling to the Catholic church at Garstang as there no other local Catholic church. Local legend has it that Cromwell's soldiers stayed at The Priory and were so pleased with the Hospitality that they left without harming the Priest, but went on to destroy Greenhalgh Castle in the nearby market town of Garstang.
The Lodge, situated next door to The Priory with its own landscaped walled gardens, was built between 1856 and 1865 when Peter Ormerod, a wealthy banker based in Bolton, commissioned architect E G Paley to design the Wyresdale Park Estate. The Lodge was the gate house to this picturesque estate and was built in the same stone and fashion as Wyresdale Hall itself. The stone arch which was once the gate still exists and is attached to The Lodge. The original avenue leading to Wyresdale Hall is now a Cul-De-Sac with the current entrance being north east of the village. The beautiful landscaped gardens are surrounded by trees nearly as old as the building itself. As well as looking stunning, they also offer privacy making the gardens a great place to relax. Our gardens are available for wedding photography meaning couples can now use this special, intimate place for their special day. Take a look at the wedding section of our website for more information about our wedding services.
Scorton is an ideal base from which to explore the Forest of Bowland or for people partaking in local activities such as game shooting, bird watching, fell walking or just a romantic retreat.